I have always had an appreciation for tutors. Especially when it comes to the terms of a one-on-one tutoring session. Ive had tutors who have completely changed my perspective on certain ideals; and have helped me improve my writing skills overall. I have had tutors who have guided me towards success, and that in itself deserves acknowledgement and appreciation.

On the other hand, I have experienced tutoring sessions that have been nothing but demoralizing and cruel. Last year I was coming into the university of Colorado as a freshman. I was bit overwhelmed with class and what not and had a research paper for a history course that I was struggling on. I was able to get my thoughts down on paper, and from there on structured a paper for the course. I was not to certain about my writing so I decided to get help from one of the TAs. Luckily she agreed to do a one-on-one session with me to work on my writing. My TA and I sat down together after class one day. She read through my entire paper while I sat next to her drooling. She finished reading and turned to me and said “Jeff this writing is simply not adequate for this course, not only are you not getting your point across, but you are not addressing the prompt.” She marked so much red pen on my paper, I couldn’t even make out my original work. My flaws were pointed out without any ambition on how to strengthen my paper or skills. I simply was made a less competent writer after this session. Demoralizing is never a good method to help someone succeed. Writing is a personal subject, and no one deserves to be judged during a session.

