Walking into my first writing class at CU, I felt a sense of maturity over my peers.  I came from a high school where writing is a top priority, so I figured while the rest of the class is going over how to write a thesis and structure a paper, I could just hang out and twiddle my thumbs.  Well, when the first paper came around, lets just say I wasn’t too thrilled with the grade I received.  I had a meeting with my teacher after class and we discussed what I could do better on my next papers so that my self-image in writing and my grades lined up.  This teacher kept challenging me to write outside my comfort zone, but she also taught me how to write to an academic audience – something that I, for some reason, was resistant to.  Before then, I was getting my voice heard, and my point across, but I didn’t have the sophisticated sound that college professors are looking for in their writing.

I am the writer I am today because of my English teacher my freshman year, but also because of every teacher I have ever had, and every book I have ever read, and every conversation that I’ve ever been a part of.  As a tutor, my goal is to further another students writing ability – to show the young writer everything that I know about good writing and hopefully give some new techniques and approaches that will help the writer to mature into a sophisticated (sounding) writer.

As a sophomore, I realize that my own writing needs a lot of work, as it will for the rest of my life; and being a tutor can only lead to improvement.   Though the writer will benefit from the tutoring, it’s hard to say who will get the most out of each session.  They say the best way to learn is to teach, and I foresee this being an extremely important development for my own writing, and hopefully a good resource for the freshman writer who decided to stop twiddling his thumbs.

