For me, I’ve always been told I was a strong writer. I never really agreed with that, but it’s what I was told. In fact, for the most part, I don’t particularly enjoy writing. I can never think of what to say, I second-guess myself constantly, and I never feel like my writing conveys what it is I’m trying to say very well. Naturally, I never once thought throughout High School that I’d wind up as a writing major. However, one person in particular sparked my interest, and while I in no way consider myself a “writer” writer (I plan on being an editor), this individual managed to inspire me to give writing a shot: Hunter S. Thompson. I read Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas at the start of my sophomore (at the time I was a psychology major), and within two weeks I had changed my major to writing. I read Thompson’s articles, his stories, I even watched a documentary on the man, just to try and pinpoint every little nuance in his writing style. I threw myself into writing for a semester, trying to emulate Thompson in every way I could. I eventually grew out of that phase, opting instead to edit people’s work, instead of trying to create my own. But were it not for discovering Hunter Thompson, who I will absolutely call my cultural informant, I wouldn’t have found my love for editing.

Image

