I was hesitant to blog at the beginning of the semester. I consider myself a fairly private person, and so the thought of sharing my thoughts on a public forum with strangers across the nation freaked me out (to put it lightly). I actually felt a lot like this guy…

Image

So it should come as no surprise when I tell you that I didn’t just jump into the blog – I read a lot of posts before I published my first. The experience of reading people’s posts made me feel more comfortable with the idea of blogging. I realized that none of us are too different from one another. We come from diverse backgrounds, different schools and modes of learning, but, at the end of the day, we’re connected by our mutual interest in improving not only our own writing but also that of others. I mean, why else would we take this class?

As the semester wore on and the blogging continued, I fell into a sort of rhythm. I had new post alerts sent to my email, so I could read every one. I was fascinated with the things people wrote. Some I could identify with while others opened me up to a perspective or situation I had never previously imagined.

Because writing in the blogs was an academic assignment, I strove to maintain some semblance of academic form though I didn’t want to come across as too straight-laced or boring. By writing from a personal point-of-view and relating my posts to my thoughts or my experiences, I found that I could be both casual and academic.

I’m extremely glad to have had this blogging experience. It’s helped me think about tutoring in a more holistic way. Just like I’ve read and processed multiple blog posts, some from strangers and some from friends, so too will I need to read and process papers and thoughts of writers during my future tutoring sessions. So thank you, everyone, for helping me along my process to becoming a writing tutor. I wish everyone the best of luck in their future roles as writing tutors!

