I wasn’t sure what to expect from this blog. My only other experience contributing to a blog was in my Writing 20 class, and that was pretty much just a public brainstorming session. I knew everyone on the site from class, so posting there was about the same as talking in class. This blog was a lot more novel for me because I had the chance to get a glimpse into the minds of all these students from around the country that I have never met. Everyone had a slightly different way of looking at things, but we are all tutors working out how exactly to tutor. I really appreciate the interconnectedness that brought. I felt like I had a purpose writing these posts knowing that we were forming a relationship with other students comprised entirely of these little exchanges. It’s like a modern day pen-pal program!

I also loved having the blog as a way to cut loose a little bit after working on literature reviews and research papers. I’m usually a pretty conversational writer, so this felt a lot more comfortable for me. It’s nice speaking in “my own voice”, and it’s been neat hearing the voices of all the different sorts of writers that these programs attract. This blog felt less drily academic and more like a conversational collaboration because we were all sharing a bit of ourselves with each other.

I’m really glad I’ve been able to do this blog and get to know you folks a little bit. I wish all of you the best of luck in the future and hope you have a happy holiday break! Image

